Stages of Autonomy Rubrics

    The Stages of Autonomy Rubrics provide an overview of the skills necessary to be a proficient lifelong learner. They outline four stages of personal autonomy as a learner, as well as a pre-learner stage where the learners typically show no understanding of the specific skills.

    Further reading:

    Summary Personal Learning Capability Impact Rubrics

    Self Direction Impact Rubric 

    Self Management Impact Rubric 

    Self Determination Impact Rubric 

    Self Regulation Impact Rubric 

    Self Responsibility Impact Rubric 

    Learner Agency Impact Rubric

    Stages of Autonomy Framework for Learners

    The 'Stages of Autonomy Framework for Learners' provides an overview of four potential phases of support for independent learning. These include:

    • Foundations
    • Guided
    • Independent
    • Autonomous

    Learners can self assess their skill levels against the rubric and framework and establish goals for specific improvements. 

    Further reading:

    Stages of Autonomy Framework for Learners

    The Stages of Readiness

    The Stages of Readiness adapts the Stages of Autonomy in a format suitable for primary aged learners. The intention is to select target skills of greater independence as a learner for primary aged learners and help the children practise specific skills. 

    Further reading:

    Stages of Readiness

    More detail:

    Authentic learning is one of the learning methodologies in the Learnlife learning paradigm toolkit. Learn more about the different ways to engage learners through the different learning methodologies.